How well qualified for a PHD will I be?

E

I am an undergraduate student, and I just want to get an idea about my prospects for doing a PHD.

I'm at the end of my 2nd year, and am pretty hopeful of being on for a 1st in Zoology. I'm a bit worried about whether my BSc will set me up for doing a PHD. Most of the areas covered in my BSc seem to attract very minimal funding at PHD level and beyond (Ecology, Behaviour, Whole organism physiology etc.) There seems to be a lot more available on the periphery of my degree: Endocrinology, Neuroscience, Genetics, Cell Biology etc.

Do supervisors usually want to see evidence of work in the same specific field as the PHD, or do they tend just to look for general abilities (research abilities etc)?

Also, I am studying at a former-polytechnic. Obvioulsy my degree would be considered inferior to the equivalent at a red-brick, but to what extent is this true? Is there a massive difference?

Cheers for any advice, Ed

G

Hi. I can't comment on the former aspects but regarding 'former-polytechnics' where did you go. Obviously there are former-polytechnic and then former-polytechnic if you get my drift.

E

I'm at John Moores. Apparently its got a good rep for a former-poly, but I bet they all say that!

G

if I were you I'd push for a 1st.

E

"I'd push for a 1st", vis-a-vis, John Moores is not held in particularly high esteem? I'm pretty confident of getting a 1st, but I still worry about where that puts me amongst the competition. For example, is a 1st from John Moores equivalent to a 2(i) from Liverpool?

S

Ok, look at the times ed tables for the universities, you will find your answer to how good john moores is. Then again, don't let that put you off, I went to a former polytechnic, similar in reputation to john moores, and I'm doing a PhD. I did a masters though as I didn't manage a 2:1

S

Its difficult to say what a 1st from one institution is compared with to another uni, as they are all difficult degrees!!