I'd like some advice, please

M

Hi,

I'm a final year computing student who with a bit of dedication will soon have a First, although the worst I can come away with (barring a major disaster) is a good 2:1.

As part of my final year, I'm doing a software project. Originally, I was looking at it purely from a software point of view, and not the subject area. However, as the project has progressed, I've realised it's a very interesting area and I would quite like to do research in it.

My project supervisors have already offered me a 2/3-month work placement after graduation to extend my project to a deployable application, but the subject of a PhD has never been broached. However, friends with other supervisors have been encouraged to submit proposals for their research areas, so it's certainly possible for (potential) BSc's to apply at my uni.

What I'd like to do is, at my next meeting, raise the issue of a PhD. So what I'd like is some advice as to how to bring the subject up without making it seem like I was waiting for them to do it (which, I've been honest and it doesn't sound too pretentious, I was!).

Also, if they are accepting new PhD students and they feel I have the ability to do it, does that indicate I'm pretty much accepted?

Thanks in advance. This whole world of post-graduation seems daunting...and still I feel far too young to even be thinking about it!!

R

======= Date Modified 21 Feb 2009 13:05:38 =======
Hello there! I'm not doing computing, but some things related to doing a PhD and research are fairly generic. I'd suggest a few things you could do before speaking to your supervisors.