I don't think I can do this.

T

I have to submit my first full draft in May and I still have another 20,000 words to write and I seem to be getting further away from my target and understanding less and less each day. Is writing up this hard for everyone or am I particularly thick? Just not sure I will ever finish anything of the required standard. I am a distance student and don't really have anyone to discuss my work with and am full of doubts. Every day I seem to reread and unpick what I have already done and don't get any further.

T

I think some people do find writing up harder than others, but it's also probably partly because you are a distance learner and so don't realise that may people feel this way.

20,000 words is totally doable within the next months and it's normal to unpick things from the previous day - this is generally good I think because you are able to improve it, as long as you are eventually moving on to new sections of course.

Have you had any feedback on your chapter drafts so far? You are probably just being unnecessarily hard on yourself.

T

I had loads to write in the last month or so of my PhD, and it was really pressured, but I got there. You'll be absolutely fine. Think about it like this - 2 months = roughly 60 days. 20,000 words over 60 days = 333 words a day. Very do-able. I had a goal of 500 words each day. Often, on good days, I'd write way more than that. But if I had a 'bad day' I still tried to get 500 words written. Keep going! (And maybe just keep writing until you've got more words, and think about editing/unpicking things later)

R

I couldn't agree more with theboakster.

Plan your days in this way and do not step away from the computer until you achieve your quota. On some days it would take me all day to reach my 500 words a day goal. Yet, on one day, I remember writing over 2000 words!