I don’t want to look stupid!

S

I am studying part-time for my PhD (biomedical engineering) and I had my first meeting with my supervisor last week. It went very well but he changed my project and asked me to look at the literature in the new field with a view to finding a new novel approach!

I am preparing a literature review but I am unsure how formal I should make the review, (he seemed quite casual about it) should I include all the reference sources or would an outline of the main technologies with improvements be enough?

I am going to email my sup and ask him what he is looking for but I just wanted to get all of you thoughts before I word my email to him, I don’t want to look stupid after only two weeks.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Kind regards

Stephen

S

I don't know your area, but I think in regards to a lit review, you should do it formally and academically, with proper references. You'd need to do this later anyway, so might as well start off by doing things properly. Start off broad, covering the general field, then get more specific ie main technologies and improvements. Your supervisor might be casual about this as this is really de rigeur to him, and is often the first step when starting research.

And don't worry about looking stupid!! Or rather - get used to it!;-) Lots of us feel stupid a great deal of the time - part of the PhD process.

Good luck!

J