I feel so inadequate (but may just be going crazy)

S

I know I am probably just being a drama queen here but I feel I need to get it out as it is really bothering me. I have been doing my PhD for two years and at the end of last year I had a really bad breakdown because of some personal issues. I really was a mess, and one of my supervisors was really supportive, but I didn't really talk to the other one. I had a real struggle but I managed to stay roughly on track although I am sure it was clear that I was a little unhinged a lot of the time. Ever since then I have been convinced the other supervisor thinks I am a complete looney and that I am basically just lazy.

I have to work 10 hours per week as a research assistant for them and the first supervisor gives me very interesting stuff to work on that will be useful for the future (that is meant to be the point in the employment bit - kind of like an apprenticeship. The other one has this undergrad student who she gives all of the remotely challenging work to and talks about her like the sun shines out of you know where. Now I think it is great that she is doing so well at such an early stage. Normally it doesn't bother me at all, although sometimes I get a bit irritated by it. Anyway today I was asked to do some extremely menial admin work for this research assistant who doesn't even have a degree yet (and no, she had no previous experience before her degree either). This bothers me. I just feel completely and utterly inadequate which may just be my own mental health playing up or it may be that it is actually a bit inappropriate. I am always second guessing myself so find it hard to gauge. Would this bother you at all?

N

I think you have good reason to be irritated by that, and I think you've done well to tolerate it so far. How does this second supervisor interact with you usually, is she rude to your face or just through the tasks she gives you? What does your first supervisor think of the situation?