"I'm a Dr." or "I have a PhD" or some egotistical statement

======= Date Modified 25 Oct 2012 08:57:38 =======

Quote From nearlyfinished:

Beefy: I think associations with top universities are sometimes linked to elitism in the public's mind. But frankly I think in general the PhD is just seen as being a superfluous, geeky and not a meaningful qualification or status symbol outside of academia rather than elitist as such. The fact you see the term PhD being used in the media as being pointless suggests exactly the kind of values and attitudes that are prevalent in the UK.

Quote From DocInsanity:

Well Ian, of course you don't need to mention it was your thesis when you mention research you've done, but why must you avoid mentioning it? After all. your thesis is probably going to be your largest project, so it does have some relevance. Plus a PhD is generally subject to more scrutiny than other projects.
It's more HOW you present the fact of having a PhD that makes the difference, not that you mention you have a PhD at all.
As someone else noted, not all PhDs are the same, and the public have a nose for bullshit.

The UK attitude as I see it is the PhD is an achievement, however, as with other 'personal' achievements it is not raised readily in conversation or correspondence unless it is directly relevant to the topic. Even then, it is the content or findings of the work rather than it making up a PhD Thesis / Dissertation that is important. The PhD qualification may be seen as important only on a personal level rather than to society in general, an afterthought if you like. The same applies to other academic qualifications.

The only situation where you might want to promote the qualification is in applying for a job that needs the qualification or impressing on students in an academic setting that you have excelled in your field and are therefore qualified to teach or supervise them.