I'm getting the interviews, but keep falling short - what else can I do?

S

Hello,

I am 28 years old and currently looking for a zoological PhD. I gained a first class BSc in Zoology in 2008, and an MSc in Animal Behaviour with distinction in 2011.

After I finished my MSc, I thought I would rather get a job than a PhD, and got a number of interviews without success. I was unemployed for eight months before eventually getting a job as an administrator in a non-science-related area. Around this time, after giving the matter more thought, I decided I would like to get into academia and so I have since focussed on PhDs, though I still look for related jobs as well.

In about 3.5 years, I have managed to get seven PhD interviews, still without success. When I ask for feedback, it generally goes along these lines: "You interviewed very well and are clearly a strong candidate; unfortunately, somebody else was more qualified for this project." In some ways, this is more frustrating than if I was doing something wrong which I could improve upon.

I understand how competitive things are at the moment, and I know I should keep trying, but at this point I'm afraid that no matter how hard I try, someone else will always be better on the day. I've been looking for opportunities to maybe improve my CV, but these are limited due to the time demands of my admin job and my location; there just aren't any places for relevant work experience near me. The best I've done is helping on a couple of zoological volunteer projects overseas; I'm going on another in May.

Is there anything more that I can do to improve my chances?

S

Can anyone please give some advice?

I

Caveat - I know nothing about research in the field of zoology or the funding situation.. I'm a Computer Scientist.