I'm so stressed and I think I irritated my PhD supervisor

L

I'm a 1st year PhD student and this is the end of my first year. I received feedback for my research proposal a few weeks ago and essentially, I had to resubmit it with corrections. One of reviewers made constructive criticism which I didn't mind. However, the comments of the other reviewer were so dismissive, condescending, and personal, it made me feel sick to my stomach and I was very stressed. Because my supervisor and I had a friendly relationship, I confided in my supervisor. I blurted out to my supervisor all the negative thoughts and self-doubts that have been running through my head. My supervisor took me to see a counsellor, and was generally very supportive and understanding, saying that my priority is to get my mind in the right place so I can continue with my PhD. I was in a depressed mood for days, and I was so emotionally exhausted that I just could not do any PhD-related work. The distress is also due to the fact that the review feedback was late - 3 months late! I spent all this time waiting for the feedback, doing no experiments when my peers are well into testing. To top things off, I don't even have a co-supervisor ... I had one at the beginning of the year but he left to take up an appointment elsewhere. I've raised this issue with my supervisor time and time again, and nothing was done about it. I feel that I've been hard done by.

A few days later, I had to front up to the annual review meeting. I'm guessing that my flat/depressed mood was noted by the review panel because when I met with my supervisor on the following day, my supervisor acted differently to before. My supervisor sounded annoyed, and suggested that I should seriously consider whether or not to continue with the PhD program. I tried to explain that I have some other diagnosed psychological issues that need to be sorted out so that I can go on with the course, but my supervisor just dismissed them.