If I don't get the PhD can I try again later?

R

I have a fairly simple question. I'm enrolled as a PhD student and am near the end of my candidature but for various reasons might downgrade to a Masters or even quit. I want to know if it is possible to re-enroll and do a PhD later. Basically, if I have been a PhD student and failed, can I have a second chance to do a PhD later?

S

There are a few of us around who are doing this second time around. I only did one year the first time and would not have been allowed to continue. There was a very long gap before trying again - it really broke confidence, and not just for the PhD but in general. After a while I just edited the whole experience out of my CV completely - easier with one year than two. Perhaps getting a masters (which I didn't) would be useful as for any other application process it automatically accounts for the time without having to go into details.

B

I'm doing a PhD the second time, but in a totally different discipline (first was science, second humanities). There are implications for funding if you don't succeed the first time: if you apply for funding again the new funding council can ask you to declare what prior funding you've received, and reserves the right to reduce your second round of funding accordingly. You can not declare things to them, covering it up, but I was totally up-front in my application. I think it helped that my second PhD was in a totally opposite discipline, so I got the full funding again. You also have to consider how keen a new supervisor would be to take on someone who's failed/quit the first time. Again you can cover things up, but is that something you should really be doing?

M

======= Date Modified 06 Jun 2009 14:56:18 =======