Illness in the family

R

======= Date Modified 07 Dec 2011 10:47:46 =======
Hi,

I am just looking for some advice on my current situation. I am a PhD student,7 months into my first year out of three. Things are going fine - I am really happy with my course, supervisors and subject. At the end of October we found out that my step-father (who is like a second father to me) is terminally ill with cancer. It was a horrible shock as he has always been fit and healthy and is only in his 60s. He has been told he is likely to have between 6-18 months to live depeing on how he does with chemotherapy. As you can imagine, the news has been devestating for my family, and especially my mother.

I have told my supervisors of the situation and they have been really understanding and said its not a problem for me to take time off or to get a suspension for weeks/months if I need it. At the moment my step-father is still doing pretty well, and we are all somewhat in denial. However, I know I have to face the reality that he may not be with us by the end of my PhD. I know there will be times when I need and want to be with my family in the coming months and years, and also to be able to support my mother when the worst does happen.

However, I am concerned that taking several months off might make it very difficult to get back into mt studies, and am thinking it might be better to suggest going part time. I was wondering if anyone else had been in a similar situation, and would be able to suggest what kind of arrangement might work best? Is it difficult to get back into your project after a big gap? Or is it better to take the time rather than trying to carry on part-time during a time that is very difficult emotionally?