Individual DFG Research funding

S

Hello!
At this moment I am a postdoc at the synchrotron in Germany. The main aim of the postdocs here is to help users to conduct their experiments and also to conduct their own research. My boss have said that it is hard to get the money for a research from the synchrotron unless they are not used for the beamline development. In this case I would like to get the Individual DFG Research funding. During my PhD studies I usually did theoretical work and performed experimental studies using analytical equipment. The materials we got from our collaborators. Now I would like to do synthesis of the similar materials by myself and analyse produced products by the synchrotron radiation. But I am little bit afraid of being unsuccessful in material synthesis because this area is new for me. What could I do in my case? Is it a good idea to get a funding for a risky area?

Can you write the application to say that you know it is risky but you can address it? So that it sounds less risky and draws the attention to what you want to achieve. A lot of applications are risky but if you can address them appropriately it should be fine.

Though it would be better to ask other people who know that funding body better. There should be someone in your department who has applied before and has some experince with what they expect. As every funding body is different and we can only give generic advice.

W