Is a second Master useful for PhD Candidates?

T

I am currently a Phd Student in Contemporary History (Greece and decolonization) and I would like your opinions whether a second master (I have already one) would be useful. If I decided to do one more, I would have to choose between "MSc in Political Science and Sociology" and "MSc in International Relations and Strategic Studies".
My interests are somehow between the above and an "MA in International History" would cover both these fields (History and Theory of Foreign Policy, Social History, Social Science etc". But there are no such programs here. So, what do you think?

T

I don't think a second masters is particularly helpful, especially if you have a PhD.

T

Thank you, that's what my supervisor says, but I think that I have some knowledge gap.

D

I agree with the post above, I don't think a second Masters will be helpful with a PhD.

S

I have a friend who just completed his 3rd masters degree, but he did not have a phd. And he was doing another masters because it was paid for by his government, and so he would have something to do, instead of being unemployed.

I also have another friend from South America who was doing her third masters degree when I met her, and she was doing this because of the MONEY from the scholarship. She was going to repair her kitchen with the money.

I honestly think - for myself- a masters degree in something like medical statistics would help me a lot, because I enjoy working with datasets and statistics, but my phd is in another area so I can never apply for jobs in the dataset/numbers field, because I don't have a piece of paper that says I can do this.

So I guess it depends on how another masters will help you, either academically, financially...or personal fulfilment etc.

H

It's unclear what you think it would be useful *for*.