Is it me, or my supervisor?

G

Hi.

I'm about 9 months into my PHD program, of a four year program. I am technically a supervisor of a Professor, but one of his postdocs is working as my effective supervisor, and this post is about the latter "supervisor".

What I'm trying to figure out is if this is me not coping with the PHD, or if he actually is… an asshole.

First my background: I have a masters in theoretical *blank*, and am working now on Computational *blank*. Not a completely new field, but alot to learn. If I were to be my supervisor I would have given me six months to read up on both the new theoretical parts of my work and get to know the computational side (we have an existing code), and then with a good basis get to do the real science.

Unfortunately I only got 1 month of this before my supervisor started asking about how I should start implementing the first set of modifications of the code. This then in my mind made me start doing a sloppy implementation of only partially learned methods/theory. Then three months later he wanted to know if I had finished the first set of modifications, I said I had but that I hadn't gotten through data analysis or a test case. At this point he went mental, yelling about how he wanted us to push for a publication and that he didn't want any of my "ridiculous excuses".

The last few months have been more of this, I am trying to learn everything I feel i don't know, while also working on the code (the actual test case has been a really annoyance as I am simply stuck). What does not help is him coming by and pestering me about the fact that he wants a publication, and that it is "way overdue", distracting me from actually getting the work done.