Is it me?

B

======= Date Modified 21 18 2010 04:18:57 =======

Hi all,

I started my PhD on Feb 2010. I did my MSc in north America studying a particular phenomenon in Ecology. For the PhD I wanted to expand my knowledge and skills so I shifted to another field in Ecology, this field requires a totally different set of experimental skills than those I gained during my MSc.

I was busy during the first 3-4 months working on my literature review. I expressed my concerns about not doing anything experimental but my supervisor felt that my progress is very good (he gave me 3 out of 4 for progression in the assessment required by the Graduate School). In fact, I believe that he was going to give me 4 but because I expressed my concerns about progression in front of the adviser he gave me 3.

On May, he took off for a 3-month course overseas. Until a month of so ago, I was drifting in the school do nothing but readings. I had to discuss a point related to the samples with another doctor in the department. At the end of the discussion, I asked her about the transfer report. She was shocked by the fact that I did not do anything experimental yet. I told her that I attended a training course and would be attending another one on September. Her answer was: "anyone can attend these training workshops, what skills have you gained and applied toward your project?". The answer was nothing.

I panicked and emailed him. He said: "Don't worry, we will figure out something experimental to do during Sep and Oct before the deadline for submitting the transfer report.