Is it possible to finish writing and field work in 14 months

A

Hi,

I am a second year PhD student. I have exactly 14 months two finish my PhD including data collection, analysis and write up. My field is social science. I have my questionnaire ready and also have decided on my methodology.

Does it sound plausible to finish on time? Any tips anyone?

Regards

S

I think it will be pretty difficult. My field is social science and I have just finished my data collection and have 15 months so do the analysis and write up and I am stressing. But my work is qualitative so the analysis may take a while and I am quite behind on writing. I think sometimes it can be quicker with quant but I'm not really sure.

How much writing have you done so far? You could be ok if you have a few chapters written up already.

S

Hi, I'm also doing a qual PhD in social sciences. I think you'd be pushing it to get this all done in 14 months - but it depends how long your field work will take. My field work took a year, and I was writing background chapters throughout this time, and now have 9 months to do the writing up and get it finished - and am majorly stressing about that. Even if you can get your survey out and back again quickly, analysis takes longer than you think, and then there's the writing...

So realistically, I think it could be difficult. But good luck!

P

Anything is possible. People naturally work at different speeds and encounter different problems along the way. I know someone who did a qualitative PhD and did data collection and write up in 8 months and passed with no corrections. I know that this is highly unusual but does show you that things are achievable if you put your mind to it!

R