Is this what normally happens?

C

I know that it is quite normal for a plan to change quite a lot during the course of the research, but is it normal for the main questions to change?
Although I had a great meeting with the sup a couple of days ago, really positive sounding, enthusiastic and all that, what worried me was that we were discussing less the main point of what I was originally aiming for.
Do I carry on with my original idea in mind, or shall I just go with the flow of the new ideas and see where it takes me?

Sorry for not sounding very clear here (too much trifle! Yum.), but I'm still quite new to the whole thing. I think my supervisor is giving me hints to stop with the original plan and go with the new one. Dunno. hmm.

B

My overall question has changed all the way through, right up to when I tackled my conclusions chapter some months ago! That's the fancy-sounding question at least. The broad idea hadn't changed, but the fancy academic sounding bit did. In my case it was more a case of discovering where I'd ended up at the end of my research, rather than changing direction. I also had a very open-ended enquiry, without preconceived ideas/conclusions at the start. So more room for change.

S

Yeh, like Bilbo, my questions also changed. My broad topic stayed the same, but the research questions changed, as I worked through my findings and discovered what I had found. Which I think is pretty common. Talk to your sup and confirm that you should be going with the new direction - this is the fun part, seeing where your research takes you!

M

Both my plan and question have changed overtime. I'd like to think it's a normal part of the process. But I think it's important for phd students to take their research in the direction that makes sense to them. That's something it took me a while to learn.

K