Issues with PI Supervisor

I

Long time lurker, first time poster here. So, my situation is that I am a PhD student on a funded research project, and am not clear how much autonomy I actually have regarding the scope and methodology of my research. My thesis was prepared by my Supervisor as part of a larger research project, and he appears to think my role is one of a Research Assistant, often refers to me as an employee, prescribes exactly what I should be working on, what tests I should carry out, what conferences I should attend, papers I should write etc. By doing so I feel I am missing out on opportunities that have arisen along the way, as well as feeling more and more detached from my work. I am also expected to carry out unpaid project work which relates more to other student's PhD research and represent the team at project meetings. The situation has become increasingly tense, and a recent attempt by him to hand over a testing regime which I developed for my own thesis to one of his other PhD students has become extremely confrontational, with my challenging his right to do so. Just wondering how this compares to what other PhD Researchers on group projects have experienced, and if he does have the authority to act as he is?

T

Hmmm. I would say this is a clash of expectations on both parts. Some students would be happy with what you are describing, because their supervisor has a lot of input, but obviously this isn't what you want. Your supervisor may be used to working this way and doesn't realise you want more autonomy. Or he may think he needs to tell you what to do, because you don't know. Have you discussed this with him? It is a bit odd he refers to you as an employee.