Juggling PhD with motherhood... any advice?

G

Hi fellow PhDs...

I need some advice

I have a 7 month old baby and am due to begin working again fulltime from January. Now on my stipend, this is never going to happen, as I cannot afford to put baby in nursery for 5 days fulltime. I am planning to work in the office 3 and 1/2 days a week. I am in my final year technically but have about 18months left before they say they'll cut my funding.. yikes!!! hence my username gottofinish! lol

Please ladies (and gents), if you have any advice.. i would gladly receive it. what has been your secret to success??!!

S

I had the same problem with childcare - I could only afford 3 days/week (and didn't really want to use more anyway). Do you have a partner living with you? My husband takes dd (now 3) out on Saturdays while I work at home. Technically you can work nights but I find that next to impossible - depends how much sleep you are getting. I have just started my 4th year and my funding ran out end Sep so now we are paying the childcare with no grant:p

I'm expecting to finish by March. Use the childcare you have to the max. I have switched from nursery to childmibnder - not only is it a lot cheaper (2/3 the cost of her nursery) but the home environment and consistency of care is especially suited to younger preschoolers - especially babies. I wish dd had gone to a childminder from the start. I rarely work in the dept now - it saves the travelling time. And don't get suckered into doing anything else like teaching etc - people forget that your time is more limited than most.

G