Lab based PhD's

W

Hi guys,

I've been in my PhD for about 7 months now - I admit I found the fisrt 3 months very hard. I feel more settled in the lab now etc but I was wondering if any other science based PhD's could answer this question. How much time do you spend on your PhD and how much time is spent on general stuff for your research team etc. In my lab everyone is expected to "muck in" so I'm learning lots of practical techniques but these experiments wont really go into my thesis. I am planning my own experiments too but struggle sometimes to find the time to do as much reading etc as I would like due to working in the lab. I pointed this out to my supervisor and he asked what I did on the evenings and weekends so that answers that question. If I was employed as a research assisstant I wouldn't mind what I'm doing but in the back of my mind there's always a nagging thought that I have a PhD to get out of this in 3 years! What are others experiences of this type of thing?? Thanks.

F

This seems unfair indeed. I've done 4 1/2 studies this year and as I am funded by a departmental studentship, they will all form part of my PhD. We are now going to write a paper and the supervisor is the co-author, but that's OK because I had lot's of support from him. Whenever people do jobs for academics in our department, that are not linked to their PhD's, they get paid extra for that. I also find the answer of your supervisor very rude an unfair. Do you also have teaching duties on top of that? My arrangement is that as a part of my PhD I am obliged to teach a couple of hours, which I do, but It doesn't say anything about slavery to my professor. If he expects you to do things that are not in the contract, you have all the right to complain!

W