Laboratory skills - I don't seem to have any!

W

Hello,

I'm just coming to the end of my first year of my lab based PhD. Before entering into this PhD I hadn't had any experience of working in a lab as my undergrad. dissertation didn't require it and I did an anatomy based degree with no molecular biology practicals. Anyhow, it has been a steep learning curve to integrate into the group, get my head around the topic and learning lab skills. I really struggle with lab skills, my supervisor didn't seem to think it would be a probelem me not having done lab work before but I'm now having problems. Specifically my pipetting is rubbish, I'm running assays and it's not good, I've had someone check my technique and have done a little practise with water on the recommendation of my supervisor (very boring). The second scientist in my lab informed me that if I was working in the NHS then my assays wouldn't be good enough and wouldn't be used. I'm supposed to do the assays for the whole lab and am getting worse if not better, I'm sure they were better earlier on in the year! If anyone has any advice it will be greatfully recieved!

L

it comes with practice, lots and lots of practice. it takes time sometimes to "hone" the skills.

when you say your pipetting is rubbish, what kind of volumes are we talking here?

1000ul and less?

L

advice given to me, when i first started pipetting, was to take up the volume slowly. check with the eye that there were no bubbles. and then slowly depress the button and pippete down and then at the end doing the extra push.
lab skills, it's just a matter of practice. don't worry. you will get there!

W