Lack of Motivation

C

Dear all,

I am a 5th year phd student, graduating next year. I am in the stage of wrapping things up and write my thesis. I have become greatly disinterested in my research or any research at all, and have very low motivation to get to work. I tried to force myself to concentrate, but it's not working so well so far. I am wondering if it is common to experience this, and if any one has good motivation strategy that you can share?

Thanks much, and good luck to you all!
Carol

S

i think it is v imp to see the reasons for lack of motivation. personal or work-related???? in any case, maybe you can just focus on the target that you need to finish your work in this much time and get out of the PhD program. keep your eyes on the end target...:)

B

I know that Lara - one of the regular posters on here - suggested a strategy from Joan Bolker's publication: 'Writing Your Dissertation in Fifteen Minutes a Day' which involves (if I've understood correctly) setting a timer for 10 minutes and only writing / working for that length of time.

The idea is that if you tell yourself you only have to work for a short time, the prospect of starting to work will be less horrendous. You might find once you've started you do much more than that, but if you don't at least you've done 10 minutes, you can reward yourself with a break and then do another 10 minutes.

I suffer with loads of problems with motivation. At the moment - out of sheer panic over a deadline - I'm managing to work but I will be trying this technique in future.

I find that frequent meetings with supervisors / getting them to set deadlines also keeps me going.

Good luck!

S

good advice, will be hanndy for me in couple of years

C

Thanks everyone, good advice. I will try it out. :)

L

bettyspaghetti is spot on!