language learning tips...

C

I am currently learning Swedish - with a tutor for an hour a week and the rest self taught. Since loads of you are international students, or good linguists - any hints for rapid development? I feel like after a year of learning I am ready to do more somehow...I want to start putting the hundreds of words together but I'm not quite sure how...I find grammar texts so dry....

Maybe I'm not making any sense! ;-)

C

Hi Chris. First of all it's great that you are trying to learn a new language. Now, I don't know a word of Swedish but I have some background in teaching languages. Grammar & exercises are boring but necessary. However after that you should try to put theory into practice as much as possible. Do you have any chance to watch any foreign channel or listening to Swedish radio programmes? In our Uni we have conversation swapshop where students can meet with native speakers. Is there a Language Centre in your Uni? Can you borrow books in original language, watch Swedish TV there? Have you tried to get in touch with the Swedish cultural institute? I am not sure if there is one in the UK, but you can check this:
http://www.si.se/templates/StartPage____3.aspx
In short, if you want to be fluent you need to live the language.
(If all the above fails, the best alternative is to find a Swedish boyfriend)

T

Hi!
I'm learning Swedish as well! Progress is slow, because I don't have a lot of time for self stduy.
Best thing to do: Language Holiday.

S

Hi Chris
You're in Manchester right? Go harrass the people at the Swedish Embassy on Deansgate. I did that once and got invited to their St Lucy's day party and met lots of cool Swedes to practise on!
S

A