Last year of the PhD, my supervisor has lost interest - hard to feel motivated

O

So I am in my last year. My PhD is part time so it had stretched out over 6 years. It's such a long time. I have 2 supervisors. I had some medical issues and had to take a few months leave of absence couple of times.

I REALLY want to finish this. I am writing up and so close to the end. But both of my supervisors can't be less interested. I have to hassle them for meetings (and they only meet me once a month). Often they would postpone the meeting even further. I know what I need to do, so I don't really need much supervision. They just need to read what I wrote and correct it. They do it in the end but I feel it shouldn't be that hard to make them do their work.

Also, my motivation has been low lately. It just feels depressing that nobody is that interested, making me less interested. I feel like I have to make do with supervisors that I have as finding a new one would be too time consuming.

Is this sort of thing normal? Supervisors kind of losing interest towards the end? And how do I cope? Just keep pushing along and chasing them to read my work?

Sigh :(

P

Dear OnegirlFarAway

Your situation sounds very much like mine.
I'm now in my final months of writing up a humanities PhD. 7 months to be exact. My funding has stopped and am now relying on my spouse for financial support.
I've got two SVs but currently am seeing only one regularly. I have a feeling he's not terribly happy about my progress as I tend to ramble here and there, not getting to the point. A colleague who started his PhD ten months after I started mine is now close to submitting...talk about peer pressure !