Late Submission of PhD thesis

L

Hi all,

I hope to get some advice from you all.

I have been working on my PhD thesis for the last 7 years.

It may look like a lot of years, but I have been a part-time student almost all my life.

I haven't submitted because my supervisor (who doesn't have a PhD) have not been able to advise me on a number of issues related to the data collection, among others. I have struggled all by myself, and have made errors along the path.

I have asked my university for extensions quite a number of times and they have agreed. Recently, they sent me the termination letter (!) informing me that I would be considered for Mphil but if the committee agrees to accept my thesis under exceptional circusmtances, then it would be at their discretion.

My questions are:
- Has it happened to anyone in UK? or US?
- What could the exceptional circumstances be?
- Could not having a good supervisor be considered a major reason to accept my late submission?

Please advise. If you know people who are in the same boat, I would appreciate hearing from them.

Thanks.
-

B

I have heard this happening before especially since universities have been audited on their submission deadlines. Before universities were quite happy to take money and have perpetual PhD students as cheap/ unpaid researchers. Now many departments want to cut away their "dead wood" by palming off weaker students with MPhils.

From my understanding exceptional circumstances usually means something along the lines of developing a life threatening medical condition or are in a car accident. Or your lab has burnt down. They are there so that freak occurances don't penalise students.

However, not having a good enough supervisor probably doesnt count. Its not a recent development, questions should have been asked a LONG time ago, and an action plan should have been negotiated. From bitter first hand experience it is unlikely anyone will give you any breaks for having a crap supervisor.

L