Leaving a fully funded PhD in a US institution as an international student

P

Hello, I am an international student from Spain and I started a fully-funded Ph.D. in molecular biology 5 months ago at an institution in the US. I have a studentship and the university Pays for my tuition and fees and I get paid a salary, and in exchange, I work as a Teaching assistant. I am really considering quitting. I will explain you my main reasons and I would love if you could give me your advice on what to do as it is really stressing me out.

I started and I was very passionate about this new experience but this past few months I just realized that the research I am doing is not something I am really passionate about. 1 week ago I received an email from a faculty member of an institution in Hawaii asking if I was interested in joining them as a Ph.D. in the zoology program for next year. I was in contact with this faculty member several months ago as I informed him about my interest in his program but unfortunately at that point, he did not have any funding available, so he was not able to accept any new students, but now he has. Working in the Zoology and wildlife conservation filed has always been my dream since I was a kid and I have checked the program and it is everything I am looking for. I am passionate about this field and I feel that I can really make a difference in it, so I am really considering quitting my actual Ph.D. and accept the offer in Hawaii. If I fully explain the situation do you think I would have any problem leaving the program? Do you think being an international student will play against me in this situation? I really do not want to leave in bad terms and this is stressing me out a lot. I wanted to see what do you think about the situation and what would you recommend.

Also, I wanted to ask just in case any of you know anything about it, as I am on a fully-funded Ph.D. with a studentship if I quit would I need to give back any money.