Left alone and insecure about mentorship

N

Hi, I am a mid-year postgraduate researcher and more often feel like I am being left alone by my supervisor in terms of mentorship and advise . Our lab has a total of 5 Phd's and 4 of us has joined this year alone. I had worked in the same lab as an unpaid research assistant for like 6 months before obtaining my scholarship to register Phd. From the very beginning, I have noticed that my supervisor has spent lot of time with the other new students than me. I often think it might be because of the less communication that I had with my to be supervisor, after I left the lab to join a paid position to earn some money. But she knew that I was keen to join the lab again and doing the paid work only to fill the gap between the scholarship confirmation and joining date (roughly 6 months in my country). Then, I did not quite understand when she said to me in the beginning that 'I do not need much supervision like the rest of them' because I am also from a different background from the PhD project. But, as months go on, my insecurity has grown ever since and I feel like I am not getting enough support. In addition to that, I was not welcomed in the team also (research staffs in the lab) where one of the staffs yelled, used inappropriate word and discouraged me to perform certain lab works as I could spoil the sample and data!!. The staff told me that I am not capable enough to perform the test that they have been trained to do for all these years. When I told this to my supervisor she acknowledged it and arranged a meeting with all the staffs but did not listen to me personally if I had been mentally affected by the work culture. These are all lead to me to think that I am incompetent for this research position and might not get the degree in the end. Alongside, this pandemic did not help the feeling in a positive way as well. I am sure if I am wrongly complaining that my supervisor is not spending more time on me but I feel this