Letters of recommendation

R

I'm applying to universities in the US and in the UK to start a PhD. (Sheesh its a ball ache applying in the US).
One of the universities i'm applying to in the UK is the same uni that i completed a Masters at.
The problem is that the US unis require letters of recommendation, which in my case will come from the same people I am applying to in the UK to supervise me. My thinking is that they might be a bit annoyed if i am asking them for help and supervision for a PhD with them, but also asking them to write letters of recommendation for other universities in the US.
Anyone have any thoughts or experience of this?
thanks

C

I don't have experience of PG studies in the Us, but I guess that there must be differences in terms of duration/requirements/training/ etc. So the main point here is to understand what you really expect to gain from a PhD in the UK or in the US. In the event of being accepted by both Universities, which one would you choose and why? And also, if you are accepted in the US, would you be prepared to move with a short notice? I don't think it's matter of annoying the people who should write you the letter of recommendation, it's part of their job, but of making sure that whatever direction you take is the right one for you and your future career.

R

hi Corinne
thanks for your reply.
Yes i would be happy to relocate at short notice. I haven't had a permanent address for some time, so moving to states would not be a problem. I am well used to packing.