Life after PhD

M

Hi everyone ! I am going into a PhD this september and I just wanted to know what are your plans after completing a PhD. What are the career prospects ?

X

Hi masters! I think alot of us are just trying to get through the PhD and not automatically assume that we're going to pass! Although most of us would say that we want an academic career, when you start your PhD, you'll realise that you can't try to look to far ahead, and just focus on trying to get through day by day.

X

Re: career prospects, academia is a fiercely competitive world, and much can hinge on what field you're going into?

S

Totally depends on your field. My topic is unfit for anything except academia.

R

Hi,my answer to your question most probably will not satisfy you.I'm in my last year of the PhD studies and I study in a foreign country (other than my place of birth).I am struggling to finish the thesis with no funding for the field research (except my own pocket),research which should be done in a different country.
I often think about my job prospects and I've already taken steps towards that, but working and studying at the same time it's really difficult.And trying to finish the thesis can be frustrating especially when you compare your situation with that of your non-PhD friends.

B

I've found that making plans while doing your PhD is a pretty futile endeavour. You have no idea how things are going to pan out, and as xeno suggested, to make plans is to assume that you're actually going to get through the PhD! It's an epic pursuit with so many variables. We have no idea what's going to pop up. For instance, my friend's dad passed away a couple of days ago, and he has since decided that he doesn't want to carry on with the PhD, and wants to move home to be closer to his family. I have some vague ideas about what I'd ideally like to be doing post-PhD, but for now I've decided to just do the best I can to get through.

B