living expenses...jobs distract me

M

I have a full tuition fee waiver on my PhD. I really need a living expenses cover stipend. I am an international student and my uni doesn't provide stipend at the moment.

what are my options?
thanks!

P

Excuse me.

Jobs distract you?

You have your entire international tuition waived and you don't want to work for your living?

Pl forgive me, but I do not quite know what to say.

I am an international student with NO money. I decided to come study here in July when all the limited international funding deadlines had run out. My uni supported me as much as they could with a couple of scholarships, but I still have a fees deficit in my 2nd yr and of course my third.

They gave me all possible jobs they could.

I work 3 days a week on teaching and 2 research project jobs which squeezeall my energy out of me. (this is just during term). DUring breaks, the 2 days on RA jobs become 3 days a week on RA jobs.

Yes, and I must complete under 3 yrs, and of course I will. I canot express how tied I get to organise the international fees, rent in London, food, and I earn so much momney that I need to pay taxes on it, and my folk think I am doing so well.

Of that money about £200 are 'extra' per year. the rest is tuition fees of £12000 a year, rent and basic food. And I am earning it all.

ANd here you are, with £12000 a year waived,. and you dont want to work for your living because jobs distract you?

I just cannot be sympathetic.

M

If I had teaching and research jobs I would not mind working 3 days and doing the PhD.

B

Phdbug - I think you are being a bit harsh on Mrrox - the point of the forum is to help. I don't want to start a slagging match because trust me, after the week I had I would go ape (was told that despite 10 years experience saying otherwise, I could not teach, and I need money as down to €40 in the bank!). But yeah, it is a right pain in the hol€ when you hear who is funded and who is not.