Looking for some inspiration :/

N

Hi Everyone, I'm a PhD student from Australia and I have about 9 months left to write up. Although I have been prolific in the past with drafts, I am starting to find it very hard to concentrate, to stay motivated, to clear my brain fog and some days I just want to give up. I have lots of support and my supervisor is great. Just wondering if anyone has any motivational tips, or tips on clearing the brain fog? Thanks so much! Any tips very much appreciated!

D

It's so difficult to know, because everyone's difficult. Sometimes what you need is a short break from the thesis. Other times, it's best to keep ploughing on. Is there a particular part that you are finding hard-going?

D

Make sure you get good night sleeps, and not staying up at night because of the stress. Brain fog is just tiredness and bad sleep quality.

Some days during writing up, I was waking up feeling absolutely tired because I had restless nights with stress-induced dreams. I learned to cut my losses: if it was one of those days, just took the day off. Go to the park, read a book, watch a movie. First try to fix your sleep patterns. Going to bed at certain times and waking up with an alarm clock same time everyday helps, also meditation before going to bed was helpful for me. The best was just going to bed thinking how much I don't care about the PhD.

Controlling the stress levels was one of the biggest challenges for me, and my biggest enemy. Just try to write a section a day, don't be too hard on yourself, at the end it is all going to fall together. Just keep going,

N

Thank you DrJeckyll, and yes, my stress levels are maxed out. I do sleep a lot but I have a thousand things on my mind so I think you're right in that the sleep quality is poor. Meditation before bed sounds like a very good idea, and I keep reading about the benefits of meditation, so I think that should be my next port of call.

N