Master Distinction Failure

S

Hi
I am a PhD student and I just got news that I passed my Master of Research but I didn't get the distiction I was close to getting because my thesis let me down - I got 68 overall and I am devastated, I can't stop crying and I feel like a failure because everyone had built me up and expected a distinction - now I am worried that I am not good enough for my PhD

I just had to post because I am so upset and I needed to let this out

D

Hi Supersteff, I think you are being too hard on yourself for nothing really. Many of us PhDiers have merits for our Masters. It doesn't bother me a tiny bit. Come on, you are doing a PhD and that means you are good enough. If you knew you weren't you wouldn't have applied and you wouldn't have been accepted. To me you got an excellent mark!!!

P

hi

Hmm. you're crying because you got a very high merit?

I've spent my entire life till now being a grade-obsessed Hermione (from Harry Potter) and my PhD has made me realise two things.

First, and this I always knew.. that I am a hard working person with some intelligence to back up the hard work. Yes, I say I knew this, and I am thankful to the powers that be, if any.

Second, and NB this I did *not* know: the above is true is not documented by my grades at all even though that may well seem the case. It is supported by the fact that even if I did not make good grades I'd probably still be a hard working PhD student.

Grades matter *this* much. Belive me. I know spectacular scholars who have not been class toppers. And I know very many class toppers who are very far from spectacular.

And please do believe me when I say this, for till last yr, I worried myself sick to get distinctions, and did get them, but missed the whole point of learning, and education.

Picture yourself 15 yrs down the line, if you're unwilling to picture yourself 15 months down the line. WIll anyone care about if you got a 68 or a 70?