Masters research degree into aviation human factors namely diabetes, struggling with academic tutors suggestions.

K

Hi everyone, I am 21 and now hold a 2:1 hons in BSc aerospace engineering. I am a pilot, I also have type 1 diabetes and I need help as I want to do a study on diabetes effects of pilot performance in the aviation workplace the cockpit.

The aviation authorities wont allow diabetics to fly due to the risk and effects of incapacitating hypoglycemia. However with careful management I believe this shouldnt be a issue.
This would use a simulator although I have limited hours access to this...and I have access to continuous glucose monitoring technology for logging glucose data.

I would like to try and pull together a research topic for this to submit to my academic supervisor (who has suggested 1 idea but it is negative towards diabetics and I think it is defeatist)

His proposal:

"Project title: The effect of simulated flying on performance and blood glucose levels in diabetic and non-diabetic pilots

Aim: To characterise the impact of simulated flying and flying emergencies on airman performance and blood glucose levels in diabetic and non-diabetic pilots.

Principal hypotheses: Diabetic pilots with medication-controlled blood glucose levels under conditions of simulated flying (including flying emergencies) will display

* a drop in blood glucose concentration that is significantly larger than in non-diabetic pilots under the same conditions,

* a reduction in performance that is significantly larger than in non-diabetic pilots under the same conditions.

Method:

The method will be approved by the Life Sciences Ethics Committee.

Subjects: 5 diabetic and an age/sex/flying experience matched group of non-diabetic pilots will be trained to fly in the CAA/FAA-validated (xxx) flying simulator to ensure a comparable experience baseline between subjects.