Masters with a 2:2

T

I am in my final year of study and although it is still possible I could finish with a 2:1, it is quite likely I will graduate with a strong 2:2 BA honours in Russian with management studies from UCL...Would I be admitted into decent MA programmes with these qualifications and how would I prove to them I would be willing to work harder than I did for my degree?

I would really appreciate any feedback.....

P

From what I recall, universities are usually keener on students that have previously studied at their universities. Incidently, I only got a 1:3 for my degree and did not get accepted onto the masters program at the uni I studied at for my degree. I was going through a lot at the time and I can understand only too well that under certain circumstances it is difficult. It is not always as simple as 'you didn't put the work in'.

P

The reason I got refused for a masters was probably because I got a 1:3 but I knew plenty of people who studied there with a 2:2 who got onto a masters at surrey uni. It was a good uni. I ended up doing a masters elsewhere and getting a 2:1!

Go to careers advice in your uni, they will probably be only too willing to help.
But.... Speak to your tutor about it: he will probably be more familiar with the climate at the present uni you are at too and be willing to discuss your options.
a 2:2 is never the end of the world : but yes, depending on your ambitions, you may need to get a masters but not always.

I think you should go for it anyway if that is what you want to do. But I think also that a good justification is always good (especially at interview stage) as to why you actually want to do the masters.

P

Perhaps try to find out what the masters course consists of and see if it fits in with what you want to do and if there are any particular elements from which you can gain great benefit (maybe with the course director?) - aside from proving you can do better than a 2:2!