meeting with potential supervisor

A

I have a meeting with a PhD supervisor at a uni next week, (as i emailed her to say that I needed research experience to enable me to be accepted to a funded PhD) and she replied saying that I should meet with her to discuss options.

This is a bit of strange question, but what do you think she will say? Would she say to come and do some unpaid research at the uni for work experience, or offer me a job as a research assistant etc?

What do you think?

P

im bit confused do you mean she offered you one but your turned it down because you didnt have experience?

A

I applied at the uni previously for a different PhD, but didn't get it (which i think was because I don't have enough research experience), so i emailed someone else in the department who also supervises PhDs and asked if she could help me to get the relevent experience that I need so I that i wouldn't be in the same situation again if i applied for another one.

P

ah ok i see. well maybe she will suggest un paid placement type job that would help you gain the experience that you would need though i would imagine would involve a generous amount of time to gain relevant skills.
maybe she is impressed by your keen nature and it may even lead on to a PhD afterwards.

if the experience is whats stopping you getting a PhD maybe a year spend being a RA or hospital lab assistant etc is the way to go, to also make sure you know it is what you want to do

S

It depends on your area, but what about a research masters?

A

I already have an MSc and don't see the point of doing another one, and i especially don't want to have to pay to do it. My research project was computor-based, so I haven't done a project in a lab. which i think has hindered me.

S