Mid 40's - Am I Too Old To Do A Phd ?

D

I am in my mid 40's and did a postgrad degree many moons ago. Is it too late to undertake a Phd? Will I struggle to get funding.

T

In my University (in UK), when attending PhD research skills seminars and workshops, I always meet many students who are in 40s and 50s. Some of them are university staff with Masters degree and upgrading to PhD. In my view PhD has nothing to do with age, it's about the drive and passion that you have.

C

Hi donfrico, I'm 43 and just started my PhD in the autumn :)

D

Hi Chickpea

Are you self funded ?

C

No, I have full funding. My degree is ancient, but I did an MSc with the Open University which just finished last year, so I did have some fresh references from that. I stressed the transferable skills I had from my work history, and I think that helped. What is it you're hoping to do?

H

Quote From donfrico:
I am in my mid 40's and did a postgrad degree many moons ago. Is it too late to undertake a Phd? Will I struggle to get funding.

Do you want to do it for enjoyment or as a career move? If the former, you're never too old. If the latter then your age is not a barrier but be aware that academic job prospects in most fields are poor, regardless of age, so make sure you've familiarised yourself with the issues in this respect before starting out.

I

You'll be judged on your proposal not your age. I got a scholarship at the age of 42, others were a few years older. Age is not a problem in my experience, though I do worry about starting out career wise as an "older worker".

Quote From donfrico: