Mismanaged PhD: Any advice?

G

Hi everyone. May I have some suggestions from you? Well, somehow i have mismanaged my PhD, partly because of problems with the previous supervisor, and partly because of my indecisiveness to choose a topic(peppered with a bit of procrastination). The problem now is that I’m left with very little time to finish my Phd, or else to let it go and take a fresh admission latter on (which sounds scary to me after investing so much time). I have been interested in an area or two in which I plan to work in the future also (I am a philosophy teacher), but those areas require too much time now given the short time i have (and thanks to the 70% of the time required to finish my phd wasted). My new supervisor suggests now to choose an area and topic in his area of interest which he says could be easy to tackle in the present time constraints. I am exasperated: If i do my PhD in an area which I dont like much,--so that i can get my Phd in time--and later on decide to work in some other areas only in which i'm genuinly interested, does that make any sense to you?I mean the whole idea of doing PhD in an area you’re not interested in seems horrifying, especially when one has no intention to work in that area latter on. But on the other hand, pragmatically thinking the probability of finishing Phd well in time (working in the area of my interest)before the expiry of its duration is perhaps not very great :( An advise would be really appreciated. Thanks

G

By the way, my Supervisor argues, that a PhD is just a formality--a degree-- and nobody will ever read it other than the examiner. He says I should get the doctorate and can latter on work in any area i desire after my PhD is completed. :-/ Doesnt sound very convincing to me, because I think PhD is one's area of specialization, and after a Phd research its rather rare to work specialize and work in some other area of the subject.

Hi Griffith,