Molecular Biologist to Social Scientist - possible?

M

======= Date Modified 27 27 2009 19:27:16 =======
======= Date Modified 27 19 2009 19:19:50 =======
Hi,

I would like to do a PhD but due to family commitments can only do it part-time. My background is in Molcular Biology. Quiting work is to do a full time Phd is out of the question, I can not do that to the family. However, my current job is home based (Accounts Manager for a Foresnic company) and I get lots of free time and my hours are flexible, so I think P/T is the best option for me and my family.

I have come across a number of Social Science supervisors whose research interests include biotechnology and Foresnic DNA profiling and one of them has agreed to supervise me if I can think of a thesis! However I am finding it difficult to think of a project since my mind is more quantitative then qualitative.

Im not asking anyone to give me a project idea, I will think of one my self. However, is there anyone here who is or has been in a simmilar situation to me who can be kind enough to offer some tips in how I can come up with a original thesis? How should my research proposal be structured?

R

Hello Mystic Guru, you sound as if you've almost answered your own questions... if you've found someone to supervise you then it's obviously possible for this to be academically viable for your own background.