Mortgages and PhD

S

Hi everyone,

I know this topic has been covered a lot in the past, but I just wanted to know if anyone had any experience in the current economic climate, so bear with me!

Basically my partner and I are struggling to get a mortgage due to my status as a PhD student. He earns a 'normal' salary, and I have a fairly decent stipend. However, some mortgage companies have given us an outright 'no', and others say they will only take my stipend into account as a 'top-up' to my partner's wage, so will only lend us a small amount.

So was just wondering if anyone had managed to get a mortgage recently?

Thanks very much :)

D

Sorry, but no good news to report. I've got on the property ladder and am trying to upgrade slightly but have been told I've no mission because I'm a student, like yourself.

B

It gets even better.

Even though I am on 30kish, as I am on an ongoing series of post doc short term contracts most banks are not touching me with a barge pole (thanks for that credit crunch). So even despite earning over the median UK salary, academia still thwarts my efforts at joining normal society.

I really wish I could take the "get pregnant and let my partner sort it out" option, but as I am a man this is unlikely.

sorry bhc, but what's 'normal'?

M

"I really wish I could take the "get pregnant and let my partner sort it out" option, but as I am a man this is unlikely." That smacks of sexism!!

Given the current economic climate, I believe it's quite right that banks don't lend to anyone who is not in a secure and permanent job - I wouldn't expect a stipend or postdoc salary to be considered good enough for a mortgage....certainly not now.

H

I told my mortgage advisor to use the title "PhD researcher", which confers student status to those who know academia and the inferral of a "recognized" job to the ignoramuses/ignoramus'/ignorami who seem to comprise the vast majority of estate agents and bankers.

P

Quote From missspacey: