Motivation

T

Hi, just wondering if anyone has any tips on motivation? I started my PhD part-time last September, and even though I find the subject interesting I just can't get going with it. I can just barely get myself to do some reading every now and then, but getting anything written down is murder. It's hard to get my teeth into it when I'm also having to work almost full time to pay my fees.

Any ideas? I'm worried that if I'm like this when I'm just starting out I'll be even worse towards the end. And I'm falling further and further behind, I need to do something about it now.

hmm, although I am not so good at taking my own medicine...

- try to work for just 15 mins, you can say to yourself you can stop in 15 mins, so it won't be that stressful, and chances are once you have done 15 mins you will carry one and do an hour or two.
- use my tomatoes to keep you working well.
- write constant lists of things that need doing, one for every day, week, month and year of your phd.

T

======= Date Modified 19 Feb 2010 09:31:54 =======
Set yourself small targets to start with, really small! I find that my motivation is primarily dependent on two things, confidence, and having made progress. When I'm working well the motivation just feeds off that, so my trick is just to find a way to get started and feel on top of it. Hence, small achievable goals that I can triumphantly tick off my list.

As Sneaks said, mytomatoes.com is great for this. Set yourself a target of just one or two tomatoes to start with, it's such a short space of time per tomato that it won't feel intimidating. As you get into it, raise the bar a little. Be realistic about what you can do whilst also working full time, as nothing that will sap your motivation faster than failing to meet your own targets.