Moving away for PhD

E

I am moving away from home and friends who I did my bachelors degree with, to start my PhD at QMUL. I don't really know anyone in London and my fear from reading some of the posts on here, is that I could become easily isolated. Since I accepted the offer, I have heard that QMUL doesn't really have a big PG community which it's making me further worry about moving away from the midlands.

I know this sounds completely stupid but has anyone else had the same problem? And how did you overcome it?

C

Hi Elmo, I have the same problem as you, I'm moving 500 miles away from friends, family and my partner to start a PhD at a research institute which is in a smallish town, it only has around 10 other PhD students and is 12 miles away from the nearest big towns and cities! So I have no words of advice yet but you're not alone at least!

N

hey Elmo and Caro... I know exactly what you are going through because I had to move a long way when I started my Phd to the smallest town that should even be allowed call itself that ever!!! the key is to get involved in other stuff besides phd work .. take up an random activities....like fencing for example.... I made a really  good friend through this, also speak with your sups. to see how much time you actually need to physically be at the Uni. it may turn out that besides term time you dont actually have to live over there and as you get nearer to the end of the course if you show them that you can work independently then they may let you move back to family and friends because in this process you need all the support  you can get and they know that.. thats what I did!!......I dont know what else to say... keep coming on the forum as well! it really  keeps you going ...discussing with other people(albeit virtually) they become your virtual support family ... anything you will go through I guarantee someone on here has been through the same if not worse....