Msc Conservation Science

F

Hi im just after a bit of advice really. Ive been searching around for a masters in conservation & came across three i really like the sound off, but the one that appeals to me most is the conservation science at imperial college (ucl is another and also reading).

Im a mature student, Due to person problems my a levels went very bad, but i got back into uni by home study. Its now going really well, Im avaraging a 2.1 at the moment (67 %)possibility of getting a 1st. does anyone know when you apply, do the unis look at the percentage or just the oveal grade 67 % is pretty close if i dont make it?!
I know imperial is notriously hard to get but the course actually says they dont ask for formal grade requirements.

does my lack of a level matter or feild work both in the uk and Africa make up for any lack?

Am i just wasting my time or should i go for it anyway? Does anyone know what reading is like too?

p.s excuse my spelling, dyslexic and im tired :P

T

Silwood Park (where the course is based) is nice, but a bit quiet if you were expecting to study in London. I also get the impression that the course director Dr Milner-Gulland is very well regarded in conservation circles.

I'd suggest getting some conservation work experience to bolster your CV (parks trusts, wildlife trusts, BTCV, the Mammal Society etc - they always need help on their Water Shrew survey). It doesn't have to be somewhere exotic, local field experience is just as valid.

Also try the ZSL website: www.zsl.org/info/jobs/academic-and-post-graduate-opportunities,116,AR.html

Good luck!

F

Thanks for that, ill take a look!

I do have quite a bit of field experience though, my course that im on is very practical, and they take us out in the field when ever possible.