My PhD advisor is not being supportive at all.

V

My phd advisor is not being supportive enough. I am in my 4th year of my phd and planning to wrap up in 4-5 months (only if everything goes as planned and things work in my favour). My research and dissertation is the last thing on my advisor’s to-do list. And I am growing extremely frustrated about this. I do not know how to handle this situation. First she is never around. Only time she is available in her office is when she has a class. She even skips her office hours allotted for students. She does not respond to my emails, calls, text messages. So only way for me to get hold of her to look for her when she has a class. I have to wait outside her door. And when I see her during this time, she tells that she is extremely busy and cannot talk. Then I ask for a meeting time to discuss about my phd dissertation. Every single time she has been late to these meetings. And sometimes she has skipped the meetings totally without informing why she is not showing up. I really want go into her office and scream that I am not able to handle this anymore. But I have been as diplomatic as possible. When I send her some writeup, she takes weeks to review it. On an average it has taken at least 3 weeks to one month to receive her feedback on something. Its not that she has like 10 other students. I am her only PhD students and she has one other master’s student (he has the same complaint too). I some time think to quit and start working. I have reached a point that I want to be done with all this and move on. But I have invested so much time in this that I do not want to lose this. But I feel extremely helpless and at her mercy. Does anybody have any suggestions, recommendations for me? I am growing frustrated with my situation. I have a job in had from my previous internship and want to go and join. But I am stuck here, helpless.

T

This is a difficult, but unfortunately not uncommon, situation to be in.