My terrible PhD life

T

Maybe my PhD student life is the worst. Maybe I should not persuit PhD at the beginning.

I am an international student. I came to USA to persuit my PhD 2005 with the support of my brother. The tuition and living cost in USA is very high, especially for us, which means a huge mount of money. When my brother heard that I need money to study abroad, he promised to support me without hesitation, even it was not easy for him to do so.

I thought I could get financial support easily once I came here. But it was not true. The first professor usually does not support students in the first year, which is the most needed time for a PhD student. So, after one quarter, I left his lab and switched to another professor. This professor is crazier. She wanted us to work 60-80 hours per week, but she did not want to pay the stipend, which is just half of the standard stipend.

T

Part2: Just at that time, I wanted to go back to my hometown and got married. It was supposed to be a happy trip, but in the end it turned to be a nightmare. Because of the tough time in the past year, I felt guilty to my family, so I just planed to stay in my hometown for 1 day.
I was supposed to pay back the money ASAP, but I could not. So my sister-in-law was very dissatisfied with me. She had argued with my brother. Right after I left my hometown, my brother got a stroke. After staying in ICU for half a month, he died. My brother, who functioned as my father in my life, died in this special way.

It was a pain for me. I know my brother undergone much pressure for me. For a long time, I could not go out of this nightmare.

T