New PhD student in Southampton Uni

N

Hi, I am new to the forum in terms of posting but i have been browsing through for the last couple of years. It has really been helpful as i applied for a PhD and despite the gloom and doom in some of the messages, it confirmed for me that a PhD is what i should be doing.

I will be coming to Southampton in September to start my PhD in the social sciences. Just wanted some advice from any current Phd'ers who might in the area. I am an international student but was in the UK for my masters 2 years ago. So:

1. Anyone stayed in halls? I have applied for St. Margarets house among others and would appreciate feedback/pictures if you have any.
2. Do most PhD students get offices and generally shared among how many?
3. how long does it take for a bank account to be opened. I have read/hear anything from 3 days to a month. so just wanted some other views.

Thanks a lot. :-)

======= Date Modified 31 Jul 2011 22:06:10 =======
I can't answer question 1) as I didn't move away from home for my PhD.

Question 2), you'll end up sharing with a few others normally. In some Universities, that may mean an open plan office with many as 20 or 30 students. You'll get a computer and a desk, whatever the set-up. I prefer the latter, as I can talk to more people.

Question 3), you should be able to open a bank account almost straight away, provided you have (in your case) two forms of identity including your passport as you're not a UK national. As a second form of identity, you might want to use student / workplace identity such as a Student Union card or University ID card. Alternatively, some form of ID from your home country might suffice such as a driving licence. Have you an international driving license?

Finally, good luck with your PhD!!!

N