New to PhD - Need an Emotional Boost!

I

Hello all,

I'm new to the whole PhD business (gave up office job to pursue my dream). Started January this year.

But the whole thing seems to be going off to such a slow start.
One week I was away on holiday and in the remaining time I have kept getting ill. Sure I've done some work, but not enough I reckon.
I also feel like I'm not good enough, I'm way out of my comfort zone.

I lucked out, I think and got a great supervisor, but somehow I find myself getting so depressed that I haven't acheived f*** all. Told him some worries, but not to the extent I feel them as I don't want to let him down.

Problem is, I haven't had too much chance to meet with others in my dept, through being ill, or working from home.
Thoughts about quitting have occurred, but obviously that's not an option. This is my dream after all!

Was wondering if anyone had any words of wisdom, or if anyne else has had problems going from "the real world" back into academia. Is this deflation so common in the first few weeks/months?

Help me out guys! =)

S

All PhDs start out slow - give it a wee while and you'll have plenty to do

PhDs (unless you have been previously working in the field) take a great deal of getting used to - you have a lot of stuff to learn but once you get started - poss more than 6 months if you've only just come on to the topic - then you'll feel quite at home

I suggest taking the time to get aquainted with those around you - as you are going to need them for support over the next few years

Good luck

S

I

Cheers S

You are definitely right, support should come from my immediate colleagues. I really need to address that.
The subject seems so overwhelming though... I know nothing!

The self-motivation is the biggest thing for me. In my previous job, if you were off for 10 days sick in a year, there would be a serious issue (I never was, for that long though!)
Plus, 25 Days paid holiday a year - NO GUILT for not working!