NI and tax and I'm mad!

P

hi.

ok. Are student supposed to pay NI?

The thing is I am getting some overtime for work done over 7 months. Or lets say a one off project. whatever.

And then the money comes thru my uni into my account and the school HR cuts chunks out of it for NI.

My sup says I can and should legitimtately claim it back, and the HR folk tell me if the income is above a certain amout in a month I must pay the thing.

Any advice? I really want to get it back if I can....

then they had been cutting 40 quid each month for some SAUL thing for pension

i said what the hell? i am a student whose question right now is survival not pension, and then they made me sign an opt out form to get the money back.

Any ideas about the NI? I have overtime coming in and dont want to lose it again!

S

Hey Bug

National Insurance is generally obligatory when you earn over a certain level - but things get complex if you don't work all year round. Basically, if you earn over £110 a week then you pay 11% - it is sometimes reduced if you pay into a pension scheme, so maybe if you carry on paying the pension (which I always thought was voluntary for academics), you could be on a better deal. HR should have asked you to opt in, not out of the pension, but I think you are stuck with NI.

However, if you only plan to work 7 months; not the whole 12, then you will be paying based on your current income. You can claim back a repayment when you finish your current job and tell them that you are no longer working. Saying that, its a drawn out process and unless its a significant amount, it may not be worth the time and effort! It depends on how much you are currently paying.

Hope this helps!

The only tax which students are exempt from is council tax, plus studentships and scholarships don't attract income tax or NI. Students do pay income tax and NI on all other earnings exactly the same as everyone else.