No progress on my dissertation

J

======= Date Modified 13 Dec 2010 17:59:25 =======
======= Date Modified 13 Dec 2010 17:52:46 =======
Dear all:

First of all, I apologize for the grammar error, English is my second language.

Anyway, I am a 25-year old Phd student. I am now working in a research and development institute. My job is a research assistant, but my role is totally different. My job is almost like an assistant of a director. I accompany the director to various big meetings such as UN Global forum, National Conferences, and WHO Regional Meetings in various countries. Yes, I enjoy attending those events. However, I feel different than others. The other research assistants (they are not yet Phd students, they are workers) are doing field works, analyze data, or write proposal. Sometimes, I feel like I am missing out something or will miss some opportunities. As they are learning alot about doing research. On other hand, I am spending all my time attending these meetings and writing meeting reports.

I have been working here for 4 months. I went to 2 countries and attend 6-8 regional conferences in development and 1 global conference. At the same time, no progresses on my dissertation and don't learn much about research.

Yes, my priority is to finish Phd as soon as possible, but I do not want to work as a researcher or professor. I think I want to be an international expert or a director of some organizations. Do you think my roles are good for me at the moment. Shall I tell my boss to allow me to do some work on research in stead of attending the big events?

Please advice. Sometimes, I am so confusing and even crying myself to bed. Please advice. I guess I am young and don't know what to do with my life. Please help me and many thanks.

E

Hello Jun480,