Not really sure what to do

S

I am an international student in NZ and am from the UK. I have just submitted my thesis and it has been a long hard slog to get there. I was very lucky to get funding for three years but I am now totally broke and unsure how I am going to pay the rent. On my visa I am only allowed to work 20 hours per week and it's just not enough to survive. I'm obviously not eligible for benefits etc because I'm not from here. My visa runs out at the end of August and to stay for longer I have prove I have around a thousand pounds in my bank account and pay an application fee of around 80 pounds. As I said I can barely pay the rent so there's not much chance of that working out!

I'm really independent and hate asking for help but I actually feel on the verge of a breakdown and I just need to stop for a month and collect my thoughts. I feel totally drained. So I bit the bullet and emailed my dad and admitted I have run out of cash and really need a break. He has offered to pay for a flight home. But if I go home I'm not that sure whether I'll be able to afford to fly back for my viva. I have the option of doing it via video link if I have 'compelling circumstances'. I think my circumstances are pretty compelling really but I'm just not sure whether that's a good idea. It sounds awkward as hell. But at the same time the idea of going home and getting out of this stupid situation is just amazing.

I'm not really sure what advice I am looking for, I just needed to get it out of my head and thought that people might relate and have some words of wisdom!

Thanks

D

Even before I read the second paragraph I was going to suggest doing your viva via video link. It would suit me I'll admit but this is very important and so you must do what makes you feel comfortable. How did you find NZ, out of interest? Brave thing to do, to study so far away from home for three years.

A