Obsessiveness

Hi everyone,

I don't even know what I really want to say, so this post may well be one long rambling rant. I'm doing one of these 1+3 PhDs, and in the "1" part, so strictly speaking I'm doing a masters, even though, to all intents and purposes, I'm part of the uni as a PhD student. I'm about halfway through the year, in my second of three lab rotations, and I'm finding it all very interesting, as I've always wanted to be a scientist (I work in biomedical stuff).

But...

I feel like I'm completely overdoing it with the work. I'm actually at work from 9.15 until about 6/6.30 every day. In addition, I usually work at home until 11 two or three weekdays a week, and usually work Sunday afternoon and evening too. I don't find that doing lab work bothers me at all, and I keep it all in proportion. Also, it's easy to leave that kind of thing at work, because I can't do lab work at home! However, the reading side of things is really getting me down. I can never stop reading, as I always worry about missing something vital, so every time I read a paper, I have to read three or four more which it references. This spirals out of control, so instead of reading 20-30 papers for a lab project, I read 80. I feel like this isn't really science like I'm meant to be doing. One of my supervisors said that he'd rather a student did an extra experiment every so often rather than reading too much, but I worry so much about missing things and getting poor marks. The masters is graded (distinction/pass/fail), and while I'm doing fine at the moment, I'm an obsessive perfectionist - I've always got As, got a first in my degree, and I'm scared of not getting a distinction in my masters. This is driving me to ridiculous levels of working, and it's really getting me down.