Off campus PhD

A

I'm only in the fourth month of my PhD in London and I'm having great difficulties adjusting to student life abroad. I'm a mature student and quit my job and moved country to do this PhD. I did a research focussed MSc at the same uni, same field of work, same supervisor and I absolutely loved it! I thought this was going to be as amazing, learning how to do research, something I would like to continue. But this time around I feel utterly miserable, have been physically sick and have no clue where al the enthusiasm and passion has gone. I cannot motivate myself and am BORED out of my mind! In addition, the need to settle down has unexpectedly kicked in and I want to do this in my home country. Therefore I was thinking about doing the PhD off campus, in my home country (Europe) and come to London once every month (or more or less) to meet up with my supervisors.

A

Does anyone on this forum have experience with an off campus PhD? What are your thoughts about not being in academic department while doing research? I should add I'm doing social research with data collection in my home country, so no lab required.
P.S.: my alternative is to quit and look for a job again.

B

I don't know anyone in that situation personally, but my supervisor has two other PhD students - one based in LA and the other in Canada. Their work is all emailed and they have all their discussions on Skype. Also, he did tell me once that if I wanted to move abroad at any point, that would be fine and I needn't give up my PhD.

I think it depends firstly on your uni and secondly what your supervisor can persuade them of. Mine is technology mad, he's an online conference nut and loves the idea that PhDs can be done by students based anywhere in the world. My advice would be to ask your supervisor(s) and see what they say.

G